Why is Navratri Celebrated & Navratri History

Let’s see why is Navratri celebrated. The word “Navaratri” is a made up of two words. Nava and Ratri,” Nava” means nine and “Ratri” means night. Expand over nine nights and ten days. Navaratri is a holy festival in Hinduism, where we are praying Goddess Durga, which is a sign of the energy, in her nine beautiful forms with great reverence.
There are two different reasons why is Navratri celebrated, and each has it’s in different parts of India. Let’s explain two of these.

The killing of Mahishasur: The Reason of Why is Navratri Celebrated

One of the dangerous daemons, Mahishasura undertook strict penance to obtain a blessing that no one cannot die by a male, underestimating at his own cost the power of the female form and started creating havoc everywhere. To stop his destruction, Shakti took an excellent way of Durga and told him that she would marry him if he beats her in a battle. They battled continuously nine days, and on the 10th day, Finally, Durga killed Mahishasura. So that the 10th day is called Vijayadashmi, a day of the victory, this is the Navratri history. On 10th day finally, Durga killed Mahishasura. One of the most famous statues that you see in temples represents this place where Mahishasura, is seen in the form of half bull, is being killed by Mother Durga.

Lord Rama was Praying to Goddess Durga

Another reason for why is Navratri celebrated is that Lord Rama fasted and prayed for nine days to seek Durga’ prays to kill Ravana. Rama kills him on the tenth day, and this day is called Dusshera, on that day the 10-headed Ravana was dead, this is the Navratri history.

Navratri history
Navratri history

During nine days of Navratri, nine forms of Durga, call nav-Durga, pray in the following sequence:

1. Shailaputri:- She is the primal energy of the trident Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva, and was born as the daughter (Putri) to Himalayas (Shaila – mountains)
2. Brahmachari:- This form represents contrition and severity leading to blissfulness and moksha
3.Chandraghanta:-Represented as 10-armed mother riding a lion, she adores a bell-shaped (ghanta) moon (Chandra), and is the slayer of evil forces.
4. Kushmanda:- She is the creator of the world
5. Skandamata:- She is the mother of Skanda, or Kartikeya, the chief warrior of Gods.
6. Katyayani:- As the daughter of sage Katyayan, she is a fierce form of Durga.
7. Kaalratri:– As the death of Kaal (time), she showcases the other side of life – departure. She is the most horrible and ruthless form of Durga.
8. Maha Gauri:- She represents calmness and grants wisdom to her devotees.
9. Siddhidatri– The accomplisher of all the wishes and giver of boons.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: